IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF GOTTLIEB DAIMLER

Home / IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF GOTTLIEB DAIMLER

PIONEER OF AUTOMOTIVE ENGINEERING

The year was 1886, and a new invention was about to change the world. Gottlieb Daimler, born in the tranquil town of Schorndorf, presented for the first time a moving car without horses – his “motor carriage” with the high-speed gasoline engine he had invented. This motor carriage is considered the world’s first four-wheeled automobile. Together with Carl Benz, who designed a three-wheeled motor carriage at the same time, Daimler and Benz are considered the pioneers of automobile construction at the end of the 19th century.

 

The following sections focus on the life of Gottlieb Daimler. In particular, his religious environment, his relationship to the Christian faith, and his revolutionary inventions as a pioneer of the automobile are considered.

Gottlieb Daimler

Gottlieb Daimler, 1834 - 1900

BIBLE VERSE OF HIS CONFIRMATION

‘Stay with what you have learned and what is entrusted to you.’

2 Tim. 3:14

Gottlieb Daimler grew up in a pietistic home in Schorndorf. In the spring of 1848 he was confirmed in the Schorndorf town church. As saying of his confirmation he was given the Bible verse from 2 Tim. 3:14.1 In the verses 16 and 17 it goes on to say: ‘All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.’

LIFE BETWEEN PIETISM AND LIBERAL THEOLOGY

The fact that ‘the scripture is God-given’ was vehemently opposed by liberal theologians at the time of the young Daimler. Above all, it was David Friedrich Strauss, who propagated in 1835 with his book ‘The Life of Jesus’ the demythologization of the Bible and the history of salvation. This two-volume work with more than 1,400-pages was ‘like a terrible earthquake’ across Europe and was described by critics as ‘the most corrupt book’ that ‘hell ever spit out of its throat’.2

While within the church and at the universities in the time of the young Daimlers it was considered chic and scientific to question the divine origin of the Bible, in Schorndorf Pietism shaped civil and ecclesiastical life.3 The former Special Superintendent (today Dean) of Schorndorf, Friedrich August Baur, noted in his visitation reports: ‘Pietism is of importance in scope and influence, it is a decisive force for the bourgeois and ecclesiastical community’. Even the young Daimler knew the Pietist ‘hour people’, attended their weekly meetings 200 citizens (with a city population of 4,000 at that time).

HIS CHILDREN ATTEND PIETISTIC SCHOOL

Impressed by the diligence and conscience of his pious compatriots, Daimler later entrusted the education of his daughters to pietistic institutions. It was important to him ‘that every one of his children should be religiously educated and participate in church services and church celebrations’.4

At that time, the Pietist schools were a sure wall of protection against the corrosive influences of modern theology that human reason set over God. The daughters of Daimler were housed in the pietistic boarding school in Königsfeld in the Black Forest.

HIS REFERENCE TO CHRISTIAN FAITH

The spiritual attitude of his parents’ house, in which Daimler grew up, becomes visible in what his grandmother Wilhelmine (died July 9, 1875) had once left on books: two hymnals, a Bible and a ‘Paradiesgärtlein’ (famous painting from about 1410 by an unrecognized painter from the Upper Rhine), two sermon books and three prayer books written by various Pietist ministers.

We do not know which spiritual impulses Gottlieb Daimler took from his hometown Schorndorf into the ‘wide world’. His work and studies took him to France and England. Violent disappointments with important business partners were not spared him. In the midst of a critical situation in his life, he wrote to his wife Emma on March 15, 1872:

In such cases there is no one for us who can better advise us than the one who is living in heaven, to whom we shall turn our eyes upward.’

Gottlieb Daimler Brief

Gottlieb Daimler′s handwritten letter to his wife Emma dated 15.03.1872

HIS BIRTHHOUSE

The Daimlers have been master bakers for generations. Since 1787 at the latest, the Daimlers’ bakery has been located at number 7 in Höllgasse, the “Bright Alley”. In 1825, Johannes Deumler, Gottlieb’s father, took over the business, which in the meantime also included a wine tavern. His marriage to the dyer’s daughter Wilhelmine Friederike Fensterer produced four sons: Johannes (1832), Gottlieb Wilhelm (1834), Karl Wilhelm (1840) and Christian Albrecht (1845). Daimler’s father did not become rich from the bread and wine trade. Nevertheless, he gave the young Gottlieb a solid education, first at the local Latin school and then in Stuttgart at the Royal State Trade School. Gottlieb Daimler learned his craft from a gunsmith; his journeyman’s piece was a double-barreled, elaborately decorated pistol.

In 1853, Daimler left Schorndorf, which at the time had a population of around 4,000, and returned only rarely. Ferdinand Steinbeis, promoter of industrialization in Württemberg, had become aware of him and arranged for him to work as an industrial worker in Graffenstaden near Strasbourg in preparation for the Polytechnic School in Stuttgart. The business in the Höllgasse was run by his brothers Johannes and Karl Wilhelm. Due to the poor earnings situation, Karl Wilhelm’s widow sold the house in 1897.

Gottlieb Daimler’s notebook from his trip to Russia in 1881 shows a sensitive observer and artistically educated person. His extensive travels and the limited possibilities of transport finally led Daimler to his world-changing vision: ‘The overcrowding of trains during summer travel and the constraints of the railroads were repugnant to me and led to the idea of self-operated driving, etc.’5

Gottlieb Daimler′s birthplace in Schorndorf (Württemberg)

WORLD’S FIRST FOUR-WHEELED AUTOMOBILE

On March 8, 1886 Gottlieb Daimler ordered a carriage in the version ‘Americaine’ from the coach builder Wilhelm Wimpff & Sohn, ostensibly as a present for his wife Emma’s forthcoming birthday, but in reality to equip it with an engine as a further test vehicle. The engine was an air-cooled, upright single-cylinder modelled on the ‘grandfather clock’, which had already been used in the two-wheeled ‘riding car’. The term ‘grandfather clock’ was used by Gottlieb Daimler and Wilhelm Maybach for their high-speed four-stroke engine, developed and patented in 1885, because it was reminiscent of a pendulum clock. Compared with the engine from the ‘riding car’, Daimler and Maybach had almost doubled the cubic capacity of the motorized carriage, thus allowing the performance to be raised to 1.1 hp.

Daimler’s motor vehicle was the first four-wheeled vehicle to driven by a high-speed combustion engine. In contrast to the Benz Patent Motor Car, which represented an independent integrated construction, Daimler’s first automobile was merely a carriage without shaft and with the common fifth-wheel-steering – a carriage without horses so-to-speak.

For the time being Daimler did not think of an evolution model or even the series production of his motor vehicle. With the motor carriage he once again had demonstrated the possible ways of using his engine and carried on to pursue the goal of producing engines for all conceivable industrial applications.6

Daimler motor carriage, 1886 © Daimler AG

FIRST DAIMLER TRUCK

One of Gottlieb Daimler’s greatest, most overlooked talents was to keep finding new applications for his engines. It began with a motorcycle, and continued with marine engines, automobiles, pumps for fire engines, and motorized trolleys. From Daimler’s point of view, it was only logical to use engine power to transport loads as well.7

The first Daimler truck, 1896 © Daimler AG

On August 18, 1896, Gottlieb Daimler presented the first gasoline-powered truck. However, it initially found no takers. It is known that in 1897 Daimler advertised his truck at the annual Württemberg agricultural exhibition held in the fall. Remarkably, he played down the aspect of the fundamentally new technology and put his invention on a par with conventional draft animals. Thus, the text of the handout distributed at the Cannstatt Folk Festival in 1897 read as follows7:

 

A ‘Daimler’ is a good animal,
Pulls like an ox, you see it here,
It eats nothing when it stands in the stable,
And drinks only when there’s work to be done;
It also threshes and saws and pumps for you,
If you lack money, which is often the custom;
It will not get foot nor mouth disease,
And doesn’t play a stupid trick.
It does not take you angrily on the horn,
Therefore buy only such an animal,
Then you are provided forever.

Note: In the original German version, the verses rhyme.

GOTTLIEB DAIMLER AND CARL BENZ

The two inventors Gottlieb Daimler and Carl Benz knew about each other and had apparently fought patent disputes with each other at the end of the 19th century – but, according to reports, they never met in person throughout their lives.

For a long time, they were simply competitors of two highly successful companies, especially in the period immediately before the First World War, and yet they had completely different objectives. For a long time, Daimler was concerned with the construction of an engine that could be used in a variety of ways and was initially built into a two-wheeled wooden frame – the so called ‘riding car’ (as the forerunner of the motorcycle). Later also in a carriage, and in a boat. Carl Benz aimed from the outset at the invention of the automobile, as a unit consisting of engine and chassis. However, both initially earned their money primarily by building stationary engines – for industrial use.

Gottlieb Daimler is considered to be the more well-traveled and versatile designer, company director and industrialist of the two. After studying mechanical engineering, the baker’s son had undertaken several years of study trips to France and England, first worked in a metal goods factory in Geislingen (as the forerunner of today’s WMF), was head of the workshops of the Karlsruhe Maschinenbaugesellschaft (for three years) and the Deutz gas engine factory in Cologne (for ten years). In 1882, he founded an experimental workshop in Bad Cannstatt, and the following year he was awarded his first patent – at the age of 49 at the time.

This was followed by the development of the ‘riding car’ – a motorcycle on a wooden frame. Daimler then commissioned Maybach, who remained associated with him throughout his life, to design a motor car. Sales of the vehicles remained unprofitable – in 1890 the Daimler-Motorengesellschaft was additionally founded, which as ‘DMG’ was later to become the basis of Daimler’s global success, and the merger counterpart with Benz’s company. In 1899, one year before his death (at the age of 66), the construction of Wilhelm Maybach’s racing car began, which was to bear the name ‘Mercedes’, and be 86 km/h fast.

Born in 1844, Carl Friedrich Benz, the son of a locomotive driver – and ten years younger than his later competitor Daimler – had studied mechanical engineering in Karlsruhe. He gained his first experience in locomotive and vehicle construction and also in bridge building. Immediately after graduating, he moved to Pforzheim, and later to Mannheim. In 1871, he founded an iron foundry and a mechanical workshop there – together with a partner. Right from the start, he worked on plans for a self-propelled, trackless vehicle. The survival of the company was ensured (not least) by the contribution of the dowry of his fiancée Bertha Ringer. This was not the case with Daimler, who had received extensive share packages when he left the Deutz company in Cologne and was thus able to finance his inventive drive.

In 1880, the first engine developed by Benz himself was ready for operation, and he founded a joint stock company in which he himself held a five percent stake. After disputes, he left the company in 1883 and founded the new ‘Benz & Cie. Rheinische Gasmotorenfabrik’ in Mannheim, as an AG – the later merger part to the Daimler-Motorengesellschaft, the DMG. In 1885, the first automobile built by Benz was in working order. On January 26 of the following year – Benz was 42 years old at the time – he patented the self-propelled three-wheeled vehicle for the ‘German Reich’.8

Benz Patent Motor Car, 1886 © Daimler AG

HIS TOMBSTONE

On March 6, 1900, Gottlieb Daimler died in Bad Cannstatt near Stuttgart and was buried there on the Uff churchyard. His tombstone contains the engraved lettering ‘Psalm 37, 6’.

The verses 1-7 of Psalm 37 read:

‘Don’t be upset because of sinful people. Don’t be jealous of those who do wrong. Like grass, they will soon dry up. Like green plants, they will soon die. Trust in the Lord and do good. Then you will live in the land and enjoy its food. Find your delight in the Lord. Then he will give you everything your heart really wants. Commit your life to the Lord. Here is what he will do if you trust in him. He will make your godly ways shine like the dawn. He will make your honest life shine like the sun at noon. Be still. Be patient. Wait for the Lord to act. Don’t be upset when other people succeed. Don’t be upset when they carry out their evil plans.’

DAIMLER’S CURRICULUM VITAE

Gottlieb Wilhelm Daimler, 1834 to 1900 5

• 1834 Born in Schorndorf on March 17
• 1848-1852 Apprenticeship with a gunsmith
• 1853-1857 Practical training in mechanical engineering in Graffenstaden in Alsace
• 1857-1859 Training in mechanical engineering at the Polytechnic School in Stuttgart
• 1859 Return to Graffenstaden in the old position
• 1861-1863 Stay abroad in England, employment at the Straub machine factory in Geislingen
• End of 1863 Technical manager of the Bruderhaus machine factory in Reutlingen
• 1867 Marriage to Emma Kurtz
• Dec. 1868 Workshop manager of the ‘Maschinenbaugesellschaft Carlsruhe’
• 1872 Technical manager of the Deutz gas engine factory
• Sept. to Dec. 1881 Trip to Russia on behalf of the Deutz company

• 1882 Leaves the Deutz gas engine factory, moves to Cannstatt and starts work in the garden house of his villa
• 1883 The first high-speed engine runs
• 1885 The second engine, the ‘grandfather clock’, is granted the German Reich patent DRP 34926. First outing with the ‘Reitwagen’, the world’s first motorcycle
• 1887 Engine production at the Seelberg factory
• 1889 Two-cylinder V-engine, steel-wheeled car and four-speed gearbox. Death of Emma Daimler
• 1890 Foundation of Daimler-Motoren-Gesellschaft (DMG)
• 1890-1894 Deputy member of the Supervisory Board of DMG
• 1892 Collaboration with Wilhelm Maybach at the Hotel Hermann
• 1893 Marriage to his second wife Lina Hartmann
• 1894 Separation from DMG
• 1895 Rejoins DMG, Chairman of the Supervisory Board
• 1900 Gottlieb Daimler dies in Bad Cannstatt on March 6

REFERENCES

Much of the content on this page is taken from the article ‘Das Wort Gottes im religiösen Umfeld von Gottlieb Daimler’ by Martin Landmesser, which was published in 2013 in the newsletter of the ‘Evangelische Karmelmission e.V.’ (Protestant Carmel Mission) in issue 01/13. There again, reference is made to the following sources:

1 Rolf Scheffbuch: ‚Pietismus an Rems und Murr‘. Lecture given on May 17, 1990 – published in: Series ‚Typisch im Rems-Murr-Kreis – Wissenswertes über Struktur, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Geschichte‘, Waiblingen 1990; Paul Siebertz: Gottlieb Daimler, ein Revolutionär der Technik, p. 292, Stuttgart 1950.

2 The Christian Spectator, Bd. VII, p. 367, London 1866.

3 Landeskirchliches Archiv Stuttgart, A29-4082 (cited by Rolf Scheffbuch: Das kirchliche Schorndorf um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts – A contribution to the Daimler commemorative year 1984, Schorndorf 1984).

4 Paul Siebertz: Gottlieb Daimler, ein Revolutionär der Technik, p. 301, Stuttgart 1950.

Additional sources:

5 Markus Jordan: ‘Das Gottlieb-Daimler Geburtshaus steht 26 km östlich von Stuttgart’, MBpassion, March 2, 2020, https://blog.mercedes-benz-passion.com.

6 Daimler Media Database: ‘Daimler Motor Carriage, 1886’, https://mercedes-benz-publicarchive.com.

7 Daimler Media Database: ‘Wie Daimler und Benz den motorisierten Transport auf den Weg bringen’, December 4, 2008, https://media.daimler.com.

8 Stefan Jehle: ‘Benz und Daimler: Die badisch-württembergische Fusion’, Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Baden Württemberg, https://www.landeskunde-baden-wuerttemberg.de.

AUF DEN SPUREN GOTTLIEB DAIMLERS

Home / AUF DEN SPUREN GOTTLIEB DAIMLERS

PIONIER DES AUTOMOBILBAUS

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1886. Eine neue Erfindung wird die Welt verändern. Erstmalig präsentiert der im beschaulichen Schorndorf geborene Gottlieb Daimler einen fahrenden Wagen ohne Pferde – seine „Motorkutsche“ mit dem von ihm erfundenen schnelllaufenden Benzinmotor. Dieser Motorwagen gilt als das erste vierrädrige Automobil der Welt. Mit Carl Benz, der zeitgleich einen dreirädrigen Motorwagen konstruierte, gelten Daimler und Benz als die Pioniere des Automobilbaus am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts.

 

Die folgenden Abschnitte fokussieren sich auf das Leben von Gottlieb Daimler. Dabei wird insbesondere auf sein religiöses Umfeld, seinen Bezug zum christlichen Glauben sowie seine revolutionären Erfindungen als Wegbereiter des Automobils eingegangen.

Gottlieb Daimler

Gottlieb Daimler, 1834 - 1900

BIBELVERS ZU SEINER KONFIRMATION

„Bleibe bei dem, was du gelernt hast und was dir anvertraut ist.“

2. Tim. 3, 14

Gottlieb Daimler wuchs in einem pietistisch geprägten Elternhaus in Schorndorf auf. Im Frühjahr 1848 wurde er in der Schorndorfer Stadtkirche konfirmiert. Als Konfirmationsspruch wurde ihm der Bibelvers aus 2. Tim. 3, 14 mitgegeben.1 Im Vers 16 heißt es dort weiter: „Denn die Schrift, von Gott eingegeben, ist nütze zur Lehre, zur Zurechtweisung, zur Besserung, zur Erziehung in der Gerechtigkeit, dass der Mensch Gottes vollkommen sei, zu allem guten Werk geschickt.”

LEBEN ZWISCHEN PIETISMUS UND LIBERALER THEOLOGIE

Dass „die Schrift von Gott eingegeben“ ist, wurde zur Zeit des jungen Daimlers von liberalen Theologen vehement bekämpft. Allen voran war es David Friedrich Strauß, der 1835 mit seinem Buch „Das Leben Jesu“ die Entmythologisierung der Bibel und der Heilsgeschichte propagierte. Dieses zweibändige Werk mit über 1.400 Seiten wirkte in ganz Europa „wie ein schreckliches Erdbeben“ und wurde von Kritikern als „das meist verdorbene Buch“ bezeichnet, „das die Hölle jemals aus ihrem Rachen spuckte“.2

Während es innerhalb der Kirche und an den Universitäten zur Zeit des jungen Daimlers als schick und wissenschaftlich galt, die göttliche Herkunft der Bibel in Frage zu stellen, prägte in Schorndorf der Pietismus das bürgerliche und kirchliche Leben.3 Der damalige Schorndorfer Spezialsuperindendent (heute Dekan) Friedrich August Baur, vermerkte in seinen Visitationsberichten: „Der Pietismus ist nach Umfang und Einfluss von Bedeutung, er ist für die bürgerliche und kirchliche Gemeinde eine entscheidende Kraft“. Auch der junge Daimler kannte die pietistischen „Stundenleute“, an deren wöchentlichen Versammlungen 200 Bürger (bei einer Stadtbevölkerung von damals 4.000) teilnahmen.

SEINE KINDER BESUCHEN PIETISTISCHE SCHULE

Angetan vom Fleiß und der Gewissenhaftigkeit seiner frommen Landsleute vertraute Daimler später die Erziehung seiner Töchter pietistischen Einrichtungen an. Es war ihm wichtig, „dass jedes seiner Kinder religiös erzogen wird und sich an Gottesdiensten und Kirchenfeiern beteiligt“.4

Die pietistischen Schulen galten damals als sicherer Schutzwall gegen die zersetzenden Einflüsse der modernen Theologie, welche die menschliche Vernunft über Gott stellte. Die Töchter Daimlers waren im pietistischen Internat in Königsfeld im Schwarzwald untergebracht.

SEIN BEZUG ZUM CHRISTLICHEN GLAUBEN

Die geistliche Haltung seines Elternhauses, in dem Daimler aufwuchs, wird sichtbar in dem, was seine Großmutter Wilhelmine (gest. 9. Juli 1875) einst an Büchern hinterlassen hatte: Zwei Gesangbücher, eine Bibel und ein „Paradiesgärtlein“, zwei Predigtbücher sowie drei Gebetsbücher, die von verschiedenen pietistischen Pfarrern verfasst waren.

Welche geistlichen Impulse Gottlieb Daimler aus seiner Heimatstadt Schorndorf in die „weite Welt“ mitnahm, wissen wir nicht. Seine Arbeit und Studien führten ihn nach Frankreich und England. Heftige Enttäuschungen mit wichtigen Geschäftspartnern blieben ihm nicht erspart. Mitten in einer kritischen Situation seines Lebensweges schrieb er am 15. März 1872 an seine Frau Emma:

„In solchen Fällen giebt es für uns doch Niemand, der uns besser rathen kann, als der im Himmel wohnet, zu dem wir unsere Blicke aufwärts richten sollen.“

Gottlieb Daimler Brief

Handschriftlicher Brief Gottlieb Daimlers an seine Frau Emma vom 15.03.1872

SEIN GEBURTSHAUS

Schon seit Generationen sind die Daimlers Bäckermeister. Spätestens seit dem Jahr 1787 befindet sich die Daimlersche Backstube in der Höllgasse, der „Hellen Gasse“, Nummer 7. 1825 übernimmt Johannes Deumler, Gottliebs Vater, das Geschäft, zu dem zwischenzeitlich auch eine Weinstube gehört. Aus der Ehe mit der Färberstochter Wilhelmine Friederike Fensterer entstammen vier Söhne: Johannes (1832), Gottlieb Wilhelm (1834), Karl Wilhelm (1840) und Christian Albrecht (1845). Daimlers Vater wird von dem Handel mit Brot und Wein nicht reich. Dennoch lässt er dem jungen Gottlieb eine gediegene Ausbildung zuteil werden, erst an der heimischen Lateinschule, danach in Stuttgart an der Königlichen Landesgewerbe-schule. Handwerkliches Geschick erwirbt Gottlieb Daimler bei einem Büchsen-macher; sein Gesellenstück wird eine doppelläufige, aufwendig dekorierte Pistole.

1853 verlässt Daimler das damals etwa 4000 Einwohner zählende Schorndorf und kehrt nur noch selten zurück. Ferdinand Steinbeis, Förderer der Industrialisierung in Württemberg, war auf ihn aufmerksam geworden und hatte ihn zur Vorbereitung auf die Polytechnische Schule als Industriearbeiter nach Graffenstaden bei Straßburg vermittelt. Das Geschäft in der Höllgasse führen seine Brüder Johannes und Karl Wilhelm. Wegen der schlechten Ertragslage verkauft Karl Wilhelms Witwe das Haus 1897.

Gottlieb Daimlers Notizbuch von seiner Russlandreise 1881 zeigt einen sensiblen Beobachter und künstlerisch gebildeten Menschen. Seine ausgedehnten Reisen und die begrenzten Möglichkeiten des Verkehrs führen Daimler schließlich zu seiner welt¬verändernden Vision: „Die Überfüllung der Züge beim Sommerreisen und der Zwang der Bahnen war mir zuwider und führte zum Gedanken der selbsttätigen Fahrerei etc.“5

Geburtshaus von Gottlieb Daimler in Schorndorf (Württemberg)

ERSTES VIERRÄDRIGES AUTOMOBIL DER WELT

Am 8. März 1886 bestellte Gottlieb Daimler bei der Wagenbaufabrik Wilhelm Wimpff & Sohn in Stuttgart eine Kutsche in der Ausführung “Americaine”, angeblich zum bevorstehenden Geburtstag seiner Frau Emma, in Wahrheit jedoch, um sie als weiteren Versuchsträger mit einem Motor auszurüsten. Eingebaut wurde ein luftgekühlter stehender Einzylinder, der nach dem Vorbild der „Standuhr“ ausgeführt war, und bereits im zweirädrigen „Reitwagen“ zum Einsatz kam. Als Standuhr bezeichneten Gottlieb Daimler und Wilhelm Maybach ihren 1885 entwickelten und patentierten schnelllaufenden Viertaktmotor, weil er an eine Pendeluhr erinnerte. Gegenüber dem Motor aus dem „Reitwagen“ hatten Daimler und Maybach den Hubraum der motorisierten Kutsche nahezu verdoppelt, und die Leistung konnte dementsprechend auf 1,1 PS gesteigert werden.

Daimlers Motorwagen war das erste vierrädrige Fahrzeug, das von einem schnelllaufenden Verbrennungsmotor angetrieben wurde. Im Gegensatz zum Benz Patent-Motorwagen, der eine eigenständige ganzheitliche Konstruktion darstellte, war Daimlers erstes Automobil lediglich eine Kutsche ohne Deichsel mit der üblichen Drehschemel-Lenkung.

Daimler dachte zunächst nicht an eine Weiterentwicklung oder gar die Serienproduktion seines Motorwagens. Er hatte mit der Motorkutsche einmal mehr die Verwendungsmöglichkeiten seines Motors demonstriert und verfolgte auch weiterhin das Ziel, Motoren für alle denkbaren industriellen Einsatzmöglichkeiten zu produzieren.6

Daimler Motorkutsche, 1886. © Daimler AG

ERSTER DAIMLER-LASTWAGEN

Eines der größten, meist übersehenen Talente Gottlieb Daimlers war es, immer wieder neue Anwendungen für seine Motoren zu finden. Es begann mit einem Motorrad, weiter ging’s mit Schiffsmotoren, Autos, Pumpen für Feuerspritzen sowie mit Motordraisinen. Aus Daimlers Sicht war es nur logisch, mit Hilfe von Motorkraft auch Lasten zu transportieren.7

Der erste Daimler-Lastwagen, 1896. © Daimler AG

Am 18. August 1896 präsentierte Gottlieb Daimler den ersten benzingetriebenen Lastkraftwagen. Er findet jedoch zunächst keine Abnehmer. Überliefert ist, dass Daimler 1897 seinen Lastwagen auf der alljährlich im Herbst stattfindenden württembergischen Leistungsschau der Landwirtschaft anpries. Bemerkenswerterweise spielte er dabei den Aspekt der grundsätzlich neuen Technik herunter und stellte seine Erfindung mit den herkömmlichen Zugtieren in eine Reihe. So lautete der Text des auf dem Cannstatter Volksfest im Jahr 1897 verteilten Handzettels wie folgt7:

Ein ‘Daimler’ ist ein gutes Thier,
Zieht wie ein Ochs, du siehst’s allhier,
Er frisst nichts, wenn im Stall es steht,
Und sauft nur, wenn die Arbeit geht;
Er drischt und sägt und pumpt dir auch,
Wenn’s Moos dir fehlt, was oft der Brauch;
Er kriegt nicht Maul- noch Klauenseuch,
Und macht dir keinen dummen Streich.
Er nimmt im Zorn dich nicht aufs Horn,
Drum kaufe nur ein solches Thier,
Dann bist versorgt du für und für.

GOTTLIEB DAIMLER UND CARL BENZ

Die beiden Tüftler Gottlieb Daimler und Carl Benz wussten voneinander, hatten offenbar auch Ende des 19.Jahrhunderts Patenrechtsstreitigkeiten miteinander ausgefochten – sind sich aber, so wird berichtet, zeitlebens nie persönlich begegnet.

Lange Zeit waren sie ganz einfach Konkurrenten zweier, insbesondere in der Zeit unmittelbar vor dem ersten Weltkrieg, höchst erfolgreicher Unternehmen und hatten dabei doch ganz unterschiedliche Zielsetzungen. Daimler ging es lange Zeit um die Konstruktion eines vielfältig verwendbaren Motors, der – zunächst – in ein zweirädriges Holzgestell (als Vorläufer des Motorrads) eingebaut wurde. Später auch in eine Kutsche, und in ein Boot. Carl Benz zielte von vornherein auf die Erfindung des Automobils, als Einheit aus Triebwerk und Fahrgestell. Beide verdienten ihr Geld aber zunächst vor allem mit dem Bau stationärer Motoren – für die industrielle Anwendung.

Gottlieb Daimler gilt aufgrund seines Lebenslaufs als der weit herumgekommene und vielseitigere Konstrukteur, Unternehmensleiter und Industrielle der beiden. Der Bäckerssohn hatte nach dem Maschinenbaustudium mehrjährige Studienreisen nach Frankreich und England unternommen, arbeitete zunächst in einer Metallwarenfabrik in Geislingen (als Vorläufer der heutigen WMF), war Leiter der Werkstätten der Karlsruher Maschinenbaugesellschaft (drei Jahre lang) und der Gasmotorenfabrik Deutz in Köln (zehn Jahre). 1882 gründete er in Bad Cannstatt eine Versuchswerkstatt, im Folgejahr erhielt er das erste Patent – mit damals 49 Jahren.

Es folgte die Entwicklung des Motorrads, auf einem Holzgestell. Danach ließ Daimler sich von Maybach, der ihm zeitlebens verbunden blieb, einen Motorwagen konstruieren. Der Absatz der Fahrzeuge blieb unrentabel – 1890 wurde zusätzlich die Daimler-Motorengesellschaft gegründet, die als „DMG“ später Basis des Welterfolgs, und der Fusions-Gegenpart mit der Firma von Benz werden sollte. 1899, ein Jahr vor seinem Tod (mit 66 Jahren), begann die Konstruktion des Rennwagens von Wilhelm Maybach, der den Namen „Mercedes“ tragen, und 86 km/h schnell sein sollte.

Der 1844 geborene Carl Friedrich Benz, Sohn eines Lokomotivführers – und zehn Jahre jünger als der spätere Konkurrent Daimler – hatte ein Maschinenbaustudium in Karlsruhe absolviert. Erste Erfahrungen sammelte er im Lokomotiv-, Fahrzeug- und auch im Brückenbau. Schon unmittelbar nach dem Studium war er nach Pforzheim gewechselt, und später nach Mannheim. 1871 gründete er dort eine Eisengießerei und eine mechanische Werkstatt – zusammen mit einem Partner. Schon von Beginn arbeitete er an Plänen für ein selbstbewegliches, schienenloses Fahrzeug. Das Überleben der Firma wurde (nicht zuletzt) durch das Einbringen der Mitgift seiner Verlobten Bertha Ringer gesichert. Anders als bei Daimler: der hatte bei Ausscheiden aus der Firma Deutz in Köln umfangreiche Aktienpakete überschrieben bekommen, und konnte sich damit seinen Tüftlerdrang finanzieren.

1880 war der erste von Benz selbst entwickelte Motor betriebsbereit, er gründete eine Aktiengesellschaft, an der er selbst mit fünf Prozent beteiligt war. Nach Streitigkeiten verließ er 1883 die Firma, und gründet die neue „Benz & Cie. Rheinische Gasmotorenfabrik“ in Mannheim, als AG – dem späteren Fusionspart zur Daimler-Motorengesellschaft, der DMG. 1885 war das erste von Benz gebaute Automobil funktionstüchtig. Am 26. Januar des Folgejahrs – Benz war damals 42 Jahre – ließ er das selbstbewegliche dreirädrige Fahrzeug für das Deutsche Reich patentieren.8

Benz Patent-Motorwagen, 1886. © Daimler AG

DAIMLERS GRABSTEIN

Am 6. März 1900 starb Gottlieb Daimler in Bad Cannstatt bei Stuttgart und wurde dort auf dem Uff-Kirchhof beerdigt. Auf seinem Grabstein ist “Psalm 37, 6” eingemeißelt.

Die Verse 1-7 des Psalms 37 lauten:

„Entrüste dich nicht über die Bösen, sei nicht neidisch auf die Übeltäter. Denn wie das Gras werden sie bald verdorren, und wie das grüne Kraut werden sie verwelken. Hoffe auf den Herrn und tu Gutes, bleibe im Lande und nähre dich redlich. Habe deine Lust am Herrn; der wird dir alles geben, was dein Herz wünscht. Befiehl dem Herrn deine Wege und hoffe auf ihn, er wird’s wohlmachen und wird deine Gerechtigkeit heraufführen wie das Licht und dein Recht wie den Mittag. Sei stille dem Herrn und warte auf ihn. Entrüste dich nicht über den, dem es gut geht, der seinen Mutwillen treibt.”

DAIMLERS LEBENSLAUF

Gottlieb Wilhelm Daimler, 1834 bis 1900 5

• 1834 Geboren in Schorndorf am 17. März
• 1848-1852 Lehre bei einem Büchsenmacher
• 1853-1857 Praktische Ausbildung im Fach Maschinenbau in Graffenstaden im Elsass
• 1857-1859 Ausbildung im Fach Maschinenbau an der Polytechnischen Schule in Stuttgart
• 1859 Rückkehr nach Graffenstaden in die alte Stellung
• 1861-1863 Auslandsaufenthalt in England, Tätigkeit in der Maschinenfabrik Straub in Geislingen
• Ende 1863 Technischer Leiter der Maschinenfabrik des Bruderhauses in Reutlingen
• 1867 Eheschließung mit Emma Kurtz
• Dez. 1868 Werkstattvorsteher der „Maschinenbaugesellschaft Carlsruhe“
• 1872 Technischer Leiter der Gasmotorenfabrik Deutz
• Sept. bis Dez. 1881 Reise nach Russland im Auftrag der Firma Deutz

• 1882 Austritt aus der Gasmotorenfabrik Deutz, Übersiedlung nach Cannstatt und Beginn der Arbeiten im Gartenhaus seiner Villa
• 1883 Der erste schnelllaufende Motor läuft
• 1885 Der zweite Motor, die „Standuhr“, erhält das Deutsche Reichspatent DRP 34926. Erste Ausfahrt mit dem „Reitrad“, dem ersten Motorrad der Welt
• 1887 Motoren-Produktion in der Fabrik auf dem Seelberg
• 1889 Zweizylinder-V-Motor, Stahlradwagen und Viergang-Zahnrad-Schaltgetriebe. Tod von Emma Daimler
• 1890 Gründung der Daimler-Motoren-Gesellschaft
• 1890-1894 Stellvertretendes Aufsichtsratsmitglied der DMG
• 1892 Zusammenarbeit mit Wilhelm Maybach im Hotel Hermann
• 1893 Eheschließung mit seiner zweiten Frau Lina Hartmann
• 1894 Trennung von der DMG
• 1895 Wiedereintritt in die DMG, Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender
• 1900 Gottlieb Daimler stirbt am 6. März in Cannstatt

QUELLENNACHWEISE

Ein Großteil der Inhalte dieser Seite ist dem Beitrag „Das Wort Gottes im religiösen Umfeld von Gottlieb Daimler“ von Martin Landmesser entnommen, der 2013 im Mitteilungsblatt der Evangelischen Karmelmission e.V. im Heft 01/13 veröffentlicht wurde. Dort wiederum wird auf die folgenden Quellen verwiesen:

1 Rolf Scheffbuch: „Pietismus an Rems und Murr“. Vortrag gehalten am 17. Mai 1990 – erschienen in: Schriftreihe „Typisch im Rems-Murr-Kreis – Wissenswertes über Struktur, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Geschichte“, Waiblingen 1990; Paul Siebertz: Gottlieb Daimler, ein Revolutionär der Technik, S. 292, Stuttgart 1950.

2 The Christian Spectator, Bd. VII, S. 367, London 1866.

3 Landeskirchliches Archiv Stuttgart, A29-4082 (zitiert bei Rolf Scheffbuch: Das kirchliche Schorndorf um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts – Ein Beitrag zum Daimler Gedenkjahr 1984, Schorndorf 1984).

4 Paul Siebertz: Gottlieb Daimler, ein Revolutionär der Technik, S. 301, Stuttgart 1950.

Weitere Quellen:

5 Markus Jordan: „Das Gottlieb-Daimler Geburtshaus steht 26 km östlich von Stuttgart“, MBpassion, 2. März 2020, https://blog.mercedes-benz-passion.com.

6 Daimler Mediendatenbank: „Daimler Motorkutsche, 1886“, https://mercedes-benz-publicarchive.com.

7 Daimler Mediendatenbank: „Wie Daimler und Benz den motorisierten Transport auf den Weg bringen“, 4. Dezember 2008, https://media.daimler.com.

8 Stefan Jehle: „Benz und Daimler: Die badisch-württembergische Fusion“, Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Baden Württemberg, https://www.landeskunde-baden-wuerttemberg.de.